Inhalt
RAW TOUCH

Playful Stores

20. July 2023, MAXFIVE

Turn the shop floor into a playground? Have your initials engraved on your mobile phone cover? Make your mark on the in-store graffiti wall? All of these are examples of a playful store, which makes shopping a playful experience – and may even have what it takes to give bricks-and-mortar retail a new lease of life.

Thema:

maxfive
playful
Retail
shopping experience
touch

Playful store – what’s it all about?

To put it simply, it’s a concept that focuses on generating a captivating shopping experience rather than squeezing every last ounce of productivity out of the retail space. Retailers have come to the realisation that it is very hard for bricks-and-mortar stores to compete with the convenience and product range that online shopping offers – in response they are turning their shops into something that the internet just can’t offer: real-world experiences.

The concept of playful stores, also known as “Experiential Retail” or “Retailtainment”, is currently in the spotlight for a reason: according to a study by the software company Shopify, one third of consumers would be happy to take advantage of retailers’ in-store experiential offerings. Access to exclusive services or experiences – as well as a personal relationship with the brand or shop – are among the strongest drivers of brand advocacy. So creating positive memories through unique experiences for customers seems like the obvious thing to do.

And for retailers, this means it may well be worth sacrificing a bit of “space productivity”, while still offering people the products they want and delivering the kind of experiences that their online competitors cannot match.

Aother way of attracting customers to bricks-and-mortar retail.

Or, in the words of commercial property marketplace Appear Here: “People are looking for ways to fill up their Instagram feeds as well as their shopping bags.” Ultimately, the positive associations conjured up by the playful experience can also help to sell the product. But retailers need to be careful and ensure that entertaining elements are combined with informative aspects: simply offering customers playful or humorous experiences with no discernible connection to the product has been proven to be an ineffective way of going about things.

Ideally, bricks-and-mortar stores will become a kind of interactive showroom where people can experience products with all their senses rather than just looking at them on a screen. So rather than playing out at a physical store checkout, the actual purchase process and physical transfer of goods can also take place via an online shop and delivery services.

Shopify ’s findings also revealed that more than half of shoppers prefer to appraise the product in-store and then buy it online.

Examples of playful stores done right

1. Nike House of Innovation

 

The Nike Houses of Innovation in Paris, Shanghai and New York deliver an interactive, digital shopping experience for shoppers via various playful elements. Driven by augmented reality, customers are sent on a scavenger hunt through the flagship store, where Nike’s product range is also presented. Customers scan the QR code at the store entrance before following an interactive map and work off a to-do list on their smartphones by mastering various AR-based minigames tied to the Nike range (football, basketball, etc.). Anyone who successfully completes all the challenges is given a physical gift with various branded goodies.

2. Casper NoHo

 

Mattress manufacturer Casper Sleep’s New York store not only offers a wide selection of mattress models, but also provides customers with private consultations in mini model houses. In the adjacent Dreamery, everything revolves around creating the ideal sleeping environment and atmosphere. Here, customers can rest by appointment in special sleep pods featuring different types of lighting, fragrances and sounds.

3. Lengermann & Trieschmann Sporthaus

 

Osnabrück fashion and sports store Lengermann & Trieschmann has come up with a way to combine product sales and a playful consumer experience. In addition to swimwear and surfing equipment, customers will find an indoor surfing arena complete with wave machine. After picking up a new pair of hiking boots, shoppers can put them through their paces right away in the City Gym. Part of the store, it simulates Alpine conditions and even offers an altitude training experience with a lower concentration of oxygen in the air.

4. Samsung Experience Stores

 

At the Samsung Experience Stores, customers enter a tech playground brimming with Samsung products. Besides VR experiences and a gaming lounge, it even has a personalisation corner where customers can have their own devices engraved (with technical support, of course).

 

All experiences have one thing in common: they all run on normal Samsung products that customers can buy themselves. Tech demos and workshops are offered in an adjacent seminar lounge. Samsung presents its smart home solutions in their natural environment: a kind of replica smart home where numerous interconnected products react to customers in real time – just as they would at home.

5. Coach New York

 

In its New York pop-up store, leather goods manufacturer Coach showcases the full spectrum of what a playful store can do: “an immersive experience for all the senses” is what the shop is going for, as the company puts it. In the store, which is more museum than retail outlet, customers pass through different sets – a New York underground station, a fairground scene, a mystical forest – where a wide variety of interactive opportunities await.

 

Among the experiences: customers are given a chance to shape the look and feel of the store by adding their own graffiti to the replica subway station. In the fairground scene there’s popcorn to enjoy, and a tarot card reading is part of the visitor experience in the mystical forest. All of the individual rooms are Coach branded, making them both Instagram-ready and advertising-friendly.

The last word

Playful stores and experiential shopping are not just creative ways to keep bricks-and-mortar retail going in the age of online shopping, but they actually have the potential to give it a whole new appeal. After all, the good old store still has multiple major advantages over the internet: it offers space for all the senses and for face-to-face social interaction.

Similar Articles
Michael Tippl auf dem Kopf gestellt

Experience. Emotion. Success.

MAXFIVE looks at the world differently. Come share our view. Now.

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

Like a phoenix from the ashes: the shopping centre of the future

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

Viva la Retailution!

brave new shopping world

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

Our vision - our story

Only those that follow their own path will never be overtaken.

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

Inhalt
RAW TOUCH

Playful Stores

20. Juli 2023, Maxfive

Die Geschäftsfläche als Spielfläche? Die eigenen Initialen selbst in die Handyhülle gravieren? Eine Zeichnung an der ladeneigenen Graffiti-Wall hinterlassen? All das sind Beispiele für den „Playful Store“, der Shopping zum spielerischen Erlebnis macht – und dem stationären Handel vielleicht sogar neues Leben einhauchen kann.

Thema:

einkaufserlebnis
maxfive
playful
Retail
touch

Playful Store – Was soll das sein?

Auf gut Deutsch gesagt: Es ist ein Konzept, das statt möglichst hoher Flächenproduktivität auf ein fesselndes Einkaufserlebnis setzt. Händler:innen haben erkannt, dass man gegen die Bequemlichkeit und das Produktsortiment des Online-Shoppings mit einem stationären Store nur schwer ankommen wird – und ihre Geschäfte kurzerhand in Orte für das verwandelt, was man im Internet nicht bekommen kann: physische Erlebnisse.

Das Konzept der Playful Stores, das auch als „Experiential Retail“ oder „Retail-tainment“ bekannt ist, steht nicht ohne Grund aktuell im Mittelpunkt: Laut einer Studie des Softwareunternehmens Shopify würden ein Drittel der Konsumenten gerne Erlebnisangebote beim Einkauf in Anspruch nehmen. Zugang zu exklusiven Services oder Erlebnissen und eine persönliche Beziehung zur Marke bzw. zum Geschäft gehören indes zu den stärksten Drivern von Brand Advocacy. Positive Erinnerungen durch einzigartige Erlebnisse für die Kunden zu schaffen, liegt da auf der Hand.

Für den Einzelhandel bedeutet das: Es kann sich durchaus lohnen, ein wenig Flächenproduktivität aufzugeben, um Menschen nicht nur Produkte zu bieten, die sie gerne hätten, sondern auch Erlebnisse, die sie bei den Online-Konkurrenten nicht bekommen.

So kann das Locken von Kunden in den stationären Handel gelingen.

Oder, mit den Worten des Gewerbeimmobilien-Marktplatzes Appear Here ausgedrückt: „Kunden möchten nicht mehr nur ihre Einkaufstaschen, sondern auch ihre Instagram-Feeds füllen“. Die positiven Assoziationen, die das spielerische Erlebnis hervorruft, helfen im Endeffekt auch beim Verkauf des Produkts. Dabei darf jedoch nicht vergessen werden, das Unterhaltende auch mit dem Informativen zu verknüpfen: Kunden nur spielerische oder humorvolle Erlebnisse zu bieten, die keine erkennbare Verbindung zum Produkt haben, ist erwiesenermaßen nicht zielführend.

Im Idealfall wird das stationäre Geschäft somit zum interaktiven Schauraum, in dem man Produkte mit allen Sinnen erleben kann, anstatt sie nur auf einem Bildschirm zu betrachten. Der Kauf und die direkte Mitnahme des Produkts müssen dann nicht an der Kasse des Geschäfts stattfinden, sondern können auch per Online-Shop und Lieferung erledigt werden.

Laut einer Studie des Softwareunternehmens Shopify sehen sich mehr als die Hälfte der Käufer:innen das Produkt mit Vorliebe im Geschäft an und kaufen es dann online.

Beispiele für Playful Stores, die neugierig machen

1. Nike House of Innovation

 

Das Nike House of Innovation in Paris, Shanghai und New York bietet Besucher:innen ein interaktives, digitales Einkaufserlebnis mit vielen spielerischen Elementen. Per Augmented Reality werden die Kund:innen auf eine Schnitzeljagd durch den Flagship-Store geschickt, bei der auch die Produktpalette von Nike präsentiert wird. Kund:innen scannen den QR-Code beim Eingang des Shops und folgen einer interaktiven Karte sowie einer To-Do-Liste auf ihren Smartphones, um verschiedene AR-basierte Minispiele zu meistern, die zum Nike-Sortiment passen (Fußball, Basketball etc.). Wer alle Herausforderung absolviert, erhält ein physisches Geschenk mit diversen Marken-Goodies.

2. Casper NoHo

 

Der New Yorker Store des Matratzenherstellers Casper Sleep bietet nicht nur verschiedenste Matratzenmodelle, sondern auch private Beratungsgespräche in kleinen Modellhäusern an, um den Kund:innen eine private Konsultation zu ermöglichen. In der angrenzenden „Dreamery“ dreht sich alles um die richtige Schlafumgebung und -atmosphäre. In der Dreamery können sich Kund:innen nach Terminvereinbarung in speziellen Nickerchen-Pods ausruhen, die mit verschiedenen Beleuchtungsarten, Düften und Klängen ausgestattet sind.

3. Lengermann & Trieschmann Sporthaus

 

Das Osnabrücker Mode- und Sporthaus Lengermann & Trieschmann kombiniert den Verkauf seiner Produkte mit dem spielerischen Erleben ebendieser. So finden Kund:innen neben Schwimmbekleidung und Surfequipment ein echtes Indoor-Surfareal mit künstlich erzeugten Wellen. Nach dem Kauf der neuen Bergschuhe kann man sie gleich im ebenfalls zum Sporthaus gehörenden City Gym ausprobieren, wo beim Höhentraining alpine Bedingungen simuliert werden – inklusive verringerter Sauerstoffkonzentration in der Atemluft.

4. Samsung Experience Stores

 

In den „Samsung Experience Stores“ wird den Kund:innen eine Technikspielwiese voller Samsung-Produkte geboten: mit VR-Erlebnissen, einer Gaming-Lounge und einer Personalisierungsecke, in der Kund:innen ihre Gerätehüllen mit eigenen Gravuren versehen können (natürlich mit technischer Unterstützung).

 

Alle Erlebnisse haben eines gemeinsam: Sie laufen auf normalen Samsung-Produkten, die Kund:innen selbst erstehen können. In einer angrenzenden Seminar-Lounge werden Tech-Demos und Workshops angeboten. Die Smart-Home-Lösungen präsentiert Samsung in ihrem natürlichen Umfeld: in einer Art nachgebildetem Smart Home. Zahlreiche Produkte sind dort miteinander vernetzt und reagieren in Echtzeit auf die Kund:innen, wie sie es auch zuhause tun würden.

5. Coach New York

 

In seinem New Yorker Pop-up-Store spielt der Lederwarenhersteller Coach auf der ganzen Klaviatur des „Playful Stores“: „ein immersives Erlebnis für alle Sinne“ soll das Geschäft laut dem Unternehmen sein. Im Store, der mehr Museum als Einzelhandels-Filiale ist, bewegen sich Kund:innen durch verschieden gestaltete Sets – eine New Yorker U-Bahn-Station, einen Jahrmarkt, einen mystischer Wald – mit verschiedensten interaktiven Möglichkeiten.

 

So kommen alle Kund:innen etwa dazu, das Aussehen des Geschäfts selbst mitzugestalten, indem sie in der nachgebauten U-Bahn-Station ihr eigenes Graffiti hinterlassen. In der Jahrmarkt-Szenerie wird Popcorn gegessen, im mystischen Wald werden Tarot-Karten gelesen. Alle Räume sind auf Basis der Marke Coach gebrandet und somit gleichzeitig „Instagram-ready“ wie auch werbefreundlich

Fazit

„Playful Stores“ und “Erlebnisshopping” sind kreative Wege, um den stationären Handel in Zeiten des Online-Shoppings nicht nur am Leben zu erhalten, sondern ihm sogar zu neuem Glanz zu verhelfen. Denn das gute alte Geschäft hat immer noch mehrere große Vorteile gegenüber dem Internet: Es bietet Raum für alle Sinne und für die soziale Interaktion von Angesicht zu Angesicht.

Ähnliche Artikel

Our vision - our story

Nur wer seinen eigenen Weg geht, wird von niemandem überholt.

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH

It's a game.

Spielen für die Umsatzsteigerung.

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH

MAXimale Möglichkeiten

Visionsgeist, Kreativität und der Mut für Innovationen als Schlüssel für erfolgreiche Projekte

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH

Aller guten Trends sind drei (vorerst)

Was uns im Retail in den nächsten Jahren sicherlich begleiten wird

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH