Inhalt
RAW SMELL

Nudging & Sustainability

23. August 2022, MAXFIVE

Record temperatures, forest fires, drought, flooding, mudslides. Although climate change didn’t just kick in yesterday, the extreme weather events we are witnessing this summer are already giving us a bitter taste of what’s to come if we fail to hit the highly ambitious climate targets set by the European Union. And it’s not just dyed-in-the-wool environmental activists who are coming to the conclusion that something has to be done, but regular Joe Public too.

Thema:

control consumer behavior
konsumverhalten steuern
Nachhaltigkeit
nudging
sustainability

Greater eco-awareness among the general population is increasingly informing consumer behaviour. A study published by Nuremberg-based consumer research company GfK in 2021 indicated that more than a third of households had already made changes to their own shopping habits. Specifically, this means things like doing without products or services that they believe are harmful to the environment or society.

For Generation Z, sustainable grocery shopping has long been part of the mainstream.

As a result of all this, food retailers are confronted with growing demand for climate-friendly shopping opportunities. It is the industry’s job to make sure it does not fall short. But before they can credibly position themselves as the go-to option for sustainability-conscious consumers, supermarkets first need to work on their own, not inconsiderable carbon footprints. There’s plenty of scope for action: energy consumption, packaging waste, soil surface sealing.

REWE shows the way

REWE is already showing how it’s done in a pilot project in Wiesbaden, Germany, where a new flagship store has all the angles covered: a CO2 -neutral timber structure, more efficient cooling thanks to doors on the chiller units, low-energy LED lighting and a glass atrium roof that allows natural light to pour into the store.

In the car park, a special stabilisation grid allows rainwater to soak straight into the soil – a far cry from the usual impermeable asphalt wasteland. On the roof, meanwhile, the water is immediately put to good use to keep the in-house basil farm in tip-top shape. The fertiliser is sourced two floors down: the waste produced by the fish kept in the basement provides high-quality nitrates for the plants.

But there’s more to it than just infrastructure.

In the sustainable supermarket of tomorrow, the shop floor has to be an experiential world that appeals to all the senses.  Greened walls, natural ambient sounds and scents can turn the point of sale into a green oasis of well-being.  Plastic – whether in packaging or used for store fixtures – grates on the environmentally conscious shopper’s nerves and should be switched out for sustainable materials such as wood instead. But there are pitfalls, too: simply coating plastic with wood effect finishes won’t cut it because anyone found guilty of greenwashing runs the risk of inflicting lasting damage on their image.

QR codes can be used to turn shopping into a truly interactive experience by linking to information (possibly even in the form of a video) about an item’s origin and production.  After all, transparency is the key to enabling consumers to make sustainable purchasing decisions.

There are also a few little tricks that can be used to make certain articles or consumer behaviour patterns more palatable. A classic use of “nudging” is to display the CO2  emissions resulting from the purchase at the end of the customer’s receipt, as this encourages them to try and reduce their footprint with each successive visit to the store.

Clever gamification is another such trick. Letting customers earn virtual trophies or collect discount points whenever they make a sustainable purchase provides a good incentive to make environmentally conscious choices.

At MAXFIVE, we see sustainable consumption as a megatrend that has huge disruptive potential when it comes to food retailing.  As a company, we are determined to do our bit to take us closer to hitting those climate goals. One important aspect of this is supporting our partners on their journey towards providing a more environmentally friendly shopping experience.  We firmly believe that with our expertise and innovation in sound concepts, visual storytelling and corporate scents, we have all the necessary tools at our fingertips to turn the vision of sustainable grocery shopping into a reality.

Similar Articles

The power of the invisible

How scents cast a spell over us

MAXFIVE

RAW SMELL
Fresh Baguettes in the bakery section of Billa Corso

A good nose

Here’s how scent marketing works.

MAXFIVE

RAW SMELL

It´s all about scent, Baby!

The sensational secret behind scent

MAXFIVE

RAW SMELL

“Give people an olfactory home!“

One of the most widely known and best perfume makers in the world, Geza Schön, on the meaning of smells.

MAXFIVE

RAW SMELL

Inhalt
RAW SMELL

Nudging & Nachhaltigkeit

23. August 2022, Maxfive

Rekordhitze, Waldbrände, extreme Trockenheit, Überflutungen, Murenabgänge. Der Klimawandel ist nicht erst seit gestern in vollem Gange, doch die Extremwetterereignisse dieses Sommers geben uns aktuell schon einen bitteren Vorgeschmack darauf, was uns bevorstehen könnte, wenn wir die hochgesteckten Klimaziele der Europäischen Union verpassen. Neben ausgewiesenen Umweltschützern gelangt so auch der „Otto Normalverbraucher“ immer mehr zu der Einsicht, dass er selbst einen Beitrag gegen die Klimakrise leisten muss.

Thema:

konsumverhalten steuern
Nachhaltigkeit
nudging

Das geschärfte Umweltbewusstsein der Bürger:innen schlägt sich auch zunehmend auf ihr Konsumverhalten nieder. Aus einer Studie des Nürnberger Konsumforschungsunternehmens GfK aus dem Jahr 2021 geht hervor, dass schon damals mehr als ein Drittel der Haushalte das eigene Einkaufsverhalten verändert haben. Sie verzichten demnach teils auf Produkte oder Dienstleistungen, die ihrer Ansicht nach der Umwelt oder der Gesellschaft schaden könnten.

Bei der Generation Z ist „Sustainable Grocery Shopping“ ohnehin längst Mainstream.

Für den Lebensmitteleinzelhandel ergibt sich also eine wachsende Nachfrage nach klimafreundlichen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Diesem neuen Trend muss die Branche nun Rechnung tragen. Um sich glaubhaft als Anlaufstelle für nachhaltigen Konsum zu positionieren, müssen Supermärkte zunächst an ihrem eigenen beträchtlichen CO2-Fußabdruck arbeiten. Das Potenzial ist groß: Energieverbrauch, Verpackungsmüll, Bodenversiegelung.

REWE machts vor

Was in diese Richtung möglich ist, hat REWE mit einem Pilot-Projekt im deutschen Wiesbaden bereits unter Beweis gestellt. Der neue Vorzeigemarkt spielt alle Stückerln: CO2-neutrale Holzbauweise, effiziente Kühlung dank Türen an den Kühlregalen, sparsame LED-Beleuchtung sowie ein gläsernes Atrium am Dach, das viel Tageslicht auf die Verkaufsflächen strahlen lässt.

Regenwasser kann auf den Parkplätzen, die sonst üblicherweise einer Asphaltwüste gleichen, durch eine spezielle Gitterpflasterung direkt in den Boden versickern. Am Dach wird es aufgefangen und findet dort zur Bewässerung der hauseigenen Basilikum-Farm auch gleich einen sinnvollen Verwendungszweck. Der Dünger entsteht zwei Etagen tiefer: Im Keller werden Fische gezüchtet, deren Exkremente eine hochwertige Nitratquelle für die Pflanzen darstellen.

Doch die Infrastruktur ist längst nicht alles.

Im nachhaltigen Supermarkt von morgen, muss der Verkaufsbereich zur Erlebniswelt werden, die alle Sinne anspricht. Begrünte Wände, stimmungsvolle Naturgeräusche und -düfte können den POS in eine grüne Wohlfühloase verwandeln. Plastik – ob bei Verpackung oder Marktausstattung – stört das Auge des umweltbewussten Einkäufers und sollte, wo nur möglich, durch nachhaltige Materialien wie beispielsweise Holz ersetzt werden. Aber Achtung: Keinesfalls darf man den Fehler begehen, Kunststoff einfach mit Holzoptik zu überziehen, denn wer sich des Greenwashings schuldig macht, riskiert einen saftigen Shitstorm und bleibenden Imageschaden.

Um das Einkaufen zu einem interaktiven Erlebnis zu machen, eignen sich außerdem QR-Codes, die zu Informationen (möglicherweise sogar in Form eines Videos) über Herkunft und Herstellung des Produktes leiten. Denn Transparenz ist der Schlüssel, um Konsumenten nachhaltige Kaufentscheidungen zu ermöglichen.

Darüber hinaus gibt es noch weitere kleine Kniffe, mithilfe derer es gelingen kann, bestimmte Artikel beziehungsweise ein bestimmtes Konsumverhalten schmackhaft zu machen. Ein klassischer Einsatz von „Nudging“ ist es so zum Beispiel, die durch den Einkauf entstandenen CO2-Emissionen am Ende der Rechnung anzugeben, denn so wird der Kunde ermutigt, diese von Einkauf zu Einkauf zu reduzieren.

Auch geschickte „Gamification“ kann diesen Zweck erfüllen. Gibt man dem Kunden die Möglichkeit, durch einen nachhaltigen Einkauf eine virtuelle Trophäe zu erhalten oder Rabattpunkte zu sammeln, ist das ein guter Ansporn, umweltbewusst zu konsumieren.

Bei MAXFIVE sehen wir nachhaltigen Konsum als Megatrend mit gigantischem disruptivem Potenzial im Lebensmittelhandel. Es ist uns daher ein Anliegen, unsere Partner auf dem Weg zu einem umweltfreundlicheren Einkaufserlebnis zu unterstützen. Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir mit unserem Know-how und unserer Innovationskraft im Bereich von Soundkonzepten, Visual Storytelling und Corporate Scent über starke Hebel verfügen, um die Vision von „Sustainable Grocery Shopping“ Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen.

Ähnliche Artikel
Fresh Baguettes in the bakery section of Billa Corso

Guter Riecher

So funktioniert Duftmarketing.

Maxfive

RAW SMELL

"Gebt den Menschen eine olfaktorische Heimat!"

Einer der bekanntesten und besten Parfümeure der Welt, Geza Schön, über die Bedeutung von Gerüchen.

Maxfive

RAW SMELL

It´s all about scent, Baby!

Das dufte Geheimnis der Düfte.

Maxfive

RAW SMELL

Die Macht des Unsichtbaren

Wie uns Gerüche in den Bann ziehen

Maxfive

RAW SMELL