Inhalt
RAW TOUCH

Social commerce sparks shopping revolution

20. March 2023, MAXFIVE

How barriers are overcome and purchases are made even faster and easier.

Thema:

e commerce
online
social commerce

Now that people have long since ceased to wonder whether someone has bought something based on a Facebook or Insta recommendation, the question is now how often they do so. And this is exactly where the new trend of social commerce enters the picture. Right at the point where people are most often found: on social media.

But first, there’s a few terms that we need to clear up: what is the difference between e-commerce, social media, social commerce, social selling and social shopping?

Social commerce specifics

As the name suggests, social commerce links social media and e-commerce. Instead of merely inspiring users on social networks to go on and make a purchase in their online shop, brands use social commerce to map the entire customer journey within their own social media platform: from the initial moment of attention and crystallising interest, to gathering information during the weighing-up phase and setting purchase incentives through to the actual purchase. And beyond that, customers have access to support, can give feedback and share their experiences with other community members via social media.

Influencers play a particularly important role because they give brands a helping hand with the sales process.

Influencers can integrate products or services into their content and drive the purchase process by providing links. Highly trusted by their followers, they are always on the lookout for the latest trends. So it’s easy to see why influencer marketing is tailor-made for social commerce.

Social shopping trip

ne thing is certain: social commerce is on the rise. Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and all the rest of them are already tinkering with various exciting ideas for a new shopping experience.

1. Live shopping (aka live stream shopping)

The principle of live shopping has lots of parallels with teleshopping, a model whereby a presenter introduces products that can be bought during a television broadcast. But live shopping plays out via the company’s own website, apps and social platforms. Merchants like Amazon and Alibaba have also taken steps to integrate the new format. Live shopping formats are also much more interactive, as viewers can actively participate by adding comments, giving likes, taking part in polls and even asking questions in real time. On an engagement level, these interactions strengthen the bond between customers and the company while helping to deepen trust – transforming customers into brand ambassadors into the bargain.

In China, 10% of all online purchases are now made via live video. And the trend has already arrived in Austria and Germany. More and more companies are using the interactive live format,  including established brands such as Otto or BIPA.  BIPA was one of the first companies in Austria to start live shopping , and MAXFIVE was able to support the further development of the live format: For example with setting organization, moderation and live stream. And because the world keeps turning, a new shopping format is already in the works: Online from mid-March.

2. Shopping via direct messages

In future, users will be able to write to companies even more directly with new Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp or Instagram Direct messaging buttons. Put simply, products are showcased in chats and – ideally – also purchased there, too. As an additional bonus, customers can ask questions and call for assistance.

3. Facebook-Shops

Facebook Shops and Instagram Shops are shopping experiences that are designed primarily for use on mobile devices. Free of charge, the service is a low-barrier way for businesses to set up online shops on Facebook and Instagram. As for stores, the entrepreneur can decide which items to present, share the brand story at the same time and sell the products with just a few clicks, either through in-app solutions or by redirecting them to the website. Oatsome is a great example of how small businesses can use social commerce to their advantage. The German start-up (which sells powdered smoothie bowls for customers to mix at home) has focused on selling on social media from the outset.

4. Curated Shopping

Curated shopping is a concept that supplements the online shopping experience with individual and personal advice. First, customers specify their requirements before being sent a selection of products based on a consultation. Having gained traction in America, the curated shopping trend first came to Europe in 2013. Outfittery, probably a name that most people are familiar with, has long specialised in business-style menswear. The idea behind it all was to spare men from having to go clothes shopping.

Huge global potential of social commerce

It’s impossible to imagine life without social media – Facebook, Instagram and the like are our constant companions. So it was only logical that these platforms would wake up to their potential beyond purely private use: now they are increasingly being used for shopping, with the lines between entertainment and sales continuing to blur. Social commerce offers enormous opportunities particularly as its frontiers are continuously expanding, and work to make it faster and easier to use never stops. A new study published by consulting company Accenture shows that it expects the social commerce industry to grow to USD 1.2 trillion worldwide by 2025. Generations Y and Z will be responsible for 62% of social commerce spending. By 2025, the most frequently purchased items will be clothing (18%), consumer electronics (13%) and home textiles (7%).

Similar Articles

Retail robots

A vision of automated retail

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

It's a game.

Gaming in the name of... increased sales

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

All good trends come in threes

What retail can look forward to over the next few years

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

Viva la Retailution!

brave new shopping world

MAXFIVE

RAW TOUCH

Inhalt
RAW TOUCH

Shopping Revolution durch Social Commerce

20. März 2023, Maxfive

Wie Barrieren überwunden und Einkäufe noch schneller und einfacher gemacht werden.

Thema:

e commerce
online
social commerce

Eigentlich ist die Frage schon lange nicht mehr, ob man schon einmal etwas gekauft hat, das Facebook, Instagram und Co vorgeschlagen haben, sondern die Frage ist: Wie oft? Und genau da setzt der neue Trend des Social Commerce an, nämlich dort, wo die Menschen am häufigsten zu finden sind: in den sozialen Medien.

Zunächst ein paar Begrifflichkeiten: Was ist denn der Unterschied zwischen E-Commerce, Social Media, Social Commerce, Social Selling und Social Shopping?

Social Commerce im Detail

Social Commerce verknüpft also Social Media und E-Commerce. Anstatt sich in den sozialen Netzwerken lediglich inspirieren zu lassen und den Kauf anschließend im Online-Shop einer Marke zu tätigen, wird beim Social Commerce die gesamte Customer Journey innerhalb einer Social Media Plattform abgebildet: Vom Erlangen der ersten Aufmerksamkeit, über das Konkretisieren des Interesses an einem Produkt, die Informationsbeschaffung in der Abwägungsphase und das Setzen von Kaufanreizen bis hin zum eigentlichen Kauf. Darüber hinaus können Kundinnen über soziale Medien Support erhalten, Feedback geben und ihre Erfahrungen mit anderen Community-Mitgliedern teilen.

Eine besonders wichtige Rolle spielen Influencer, denn sie helfen den Brands im Verkaufsprozess.

Influencer können Produkte oder Dienstleistungen in ihren Content integrieren und durch Verlinkungen den Kaufvorgang unterstützen. Sie genießen ein großes Vertrauen bei ihren Followern, die immer auf der Suche den neuesten Trends sind. Das macht das Influencer Marketing wie geschaffen für Social Commerce.

So spannend ist Social Shopping!

Eines ist gewiss: Social Commerce ist am Vormarsch und Instagram, Facebook, TikTok und Co tüfteln bereits anspannenden Ideen für ein neues Einkaufserlebnis.

1. Live-Shopping (auch Live-Stream-Shopping)

Das Prinzip von Live-Shopping ähnelt sehr stark dem Modell des Teleshoppings, bei dem ein:e Moderator:in Produkte vorstellt, die während der Fernsehsendung gekauft werden können. Das Live-Shopping wird allerdings über die unternehmenseigene Website, Apps und sozialen Plattformen ausgespielt, aber auch Amazon oder Alibaba haben das neue Format bereits integriert. Live- Shopping-Formate sind darüber hinaus viel interaktiver, da die Zuschauer durch Kommentare, Likes sowie Umfragen aktiv teilhaben können und die Möglichkeit haben, Fragen in Echtzeit zu stellen. Diese Interaktionen stärken im Sinne des Customer Engagements die Bindung zwischen Kunden und Unternehmen und vertiefen das Vertrauen – die Kunden werden zu Markenbotschaftern.

In China werden bereits 10% aller Onlinekäufe über Live-Videos getätigt. Und auch in Österreich und Deutschland ist der Trend bereits angekommen. Immer mehr Unternehmen setzen das interaktive Live-Format ein – darunter Marken wie Otto oder BIPA. BIPA war in Österreich eines der ersten Unternehmen, das mit Liveshopping gestartet hat und MAXFIVE durfte die Weiterentwicklung des Live Formats unterstützen: Etwa mit Setting-Organisation, Moderation und Live-Stream. Und weil die Welt sich bekanntlich immer weiterdreht, wird bereits an einem neuen Shopping Format gearbeitet: Ab Mitte März online.

2. Über Direktnachrichten einkaufen

Zukünftig sollen User:innen noch mehr direkt mit neuen Messaging-Buttons über Facebook Messenger, WhatsApp oder Instagram Direct Unternehmen anschreiben können. So werden in den Chats Produkte vorgestellt und idealerweise auch erworben. Zudem können Fragen gestellt und Hilfe angefordert werden.

3. Facebook-Shops

Facebook Shops und Instagram Shops ist ein vor allem für Mobilgeräte konzipiertes Shopping-Erlebnis, mit dem Unternehmen ganz einfach und kostenlos einen Online-Shop auf Facebook und Instagram einrichten können. Mit Shops kann der Unternehmer selbst entscheiden, welche Artikel präsentiert werden, gleichzeitig die Markengeschichte erzählen und mit nur wenigen Klicks die Produkte entweder durch In-App-Lösungen oder durch Weiterleitung auf die Website verkaufen. Ein Beispiel, wie vor allem kleine Unternehmen erfolgreich Social Commerce betreiben können, ist Oatsome. Das Start-up aus Deutschland verkauft Smoothie-Bowls in Pulverform zum Selbstanrühren und hat von Beginn an den Fokus auf den Verkauf auf Social Media gesetzt.

4. Curated Shopping

Beim Curated Shopping („betreutes“ Einkaufen) handelt es sich um ein Konzept, das Online-Shopping durch persönliche Beratung ergänzt. Kunden geben zunächst ihre Wünsche an und erhalten anschließend, basierend auf einem Beratungsgespräch, eine Produktauswahl zugeschickt. Der Trend des Curated Shoppings ist 2013 von Amerika nach Europa gekommen. Outfittery ist sicherlich den meisten ein Begriff. Spezialisiert hat sich Outfittery lange Zeit auf Herrenbekleidung im Business-Stil. Ziel war und ist es, Männern den Gang ins Geschäft zu ersparen.

Großes weltweites Potenzial von Social Commerce

Social Media ist aus unseren Köpfen nicht mehr wegzudenken, ständig begleiten uns Facebook, Instagram und Co. Längst wurde daher bemerkt, dass diese Plattformen mehr Potential haben als nur die private Nutzung: Unsere ständigen Alltagsbegleiter werden auch zum Shoppen genutzt, sodass sich Entertainment und Verkauf nach und nach vermischen. Durch die dauernde Weiterentwicklung sowie die immer schneller und einfacher werdende Handhabung bietet Social Commerce enorme Möglichkeiten. Das Beratungsunternehmen Accenture ist davon überzeugt, dass Social Commerce bis 2025 weltweit ein Volumen von 1,2 Billionen Dollar erreichen wird. Für 62 Prozent der Social-Commerce-Ausgaben werden dabei die Generationen Y und Z verantwortlich sein. Die meisten Einkäufe werden bis 2025 in den Bereichen Bekleidung (18 %), Unterhaltungselektronik (13 %) und Heimtextilien (7 %) getätigt werden.

Ähnliche Artikel

MAXimale Möglichkeiten

Visionsgeist, Kreativität und der Mut für Innovationen als Schlüssel für erfolgreiche Projekte

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH

Gute Geschäfte

Einkaufen direkt in den Geschäften muss ein emotionales Erlebnis werden.

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH
Person testing lemons in a Billa Corso supermarket

Viva la Retailution!

Schöne neue Einkaufswelt

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH

Einkaufserlebnisse hautnah: Der MAXFIVE Showroom

Damit machen wir den Retail langfristig zukunftsfit.

Maxfive

RAW TOUCH